Jump to content

Horrible Spam Mail


Recommended Posts

Everyone got it.

It's not the captcha. The account was registered properly.

Just be glad we don't get more of these types of attacks. They tend to be hit heavily with spambots and spammers, and that one appears to have been an actual spammer.

The only real way to protect against them is to keep an active community that communicates with the forum admin(Chewett) when they happen. As he said, forward the PM to him and tell him what it's about.

Also, keep in mind, if you talk to others before sending it and others say that have received it also check if they sent Chewett a PM. I garuntee he had at LEAST 20 PMs regarding this one attack when he logged in.

But yeah, stay active. It keeps the spammers at bay.

EDIT: Also, if you clicked on the link, please run some sort of virus/spyware check on your machine ASAP. I recommend at the VERY least downloading Avast AntiVirus(do a google search...you can't go wrong) and Lavasoft Ad-Aware.

Both have free versions that you can use and that work wonderfully. Keep yourself protected. Keep all of us protected.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Chewett' post='28162' date='Apr 4 2009, 01:20 PM']dealt with.

If anyone ever gets things like this please pm me with it straight away.[/quote]

I got one too ... I would have PMed you with the message (inc headers) ... but I can send you a PM (feature unavailable) :-( .

The following might help in tracking down the source. (Not all the headers ... I've removed those lines that I thought were not relevant and removed my email address where it appears ... not edited anything else.
Received: from [] (helo=staff-smtp.opaltelecom.net)
by mailin-1.opaltelecom.net with esmtp (Exim 4.44)
id 1LpyKU-0002o1-Pv
for ********@********.***; Sat, 04 Apr 2009 06:22:06 +0100
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Filtered: true
X-IronPort-Anti-Spam-Result: Ao8JAM+L1knQQ9Q2amdsb2JhbACWJxQEIrZ/hA8G
X-IronPort-AV: E=Sophos;i="4.39,322,1235952000";
Received: from ips-208-67-212-54.ipslink.com (HELO server26.ipslink.com) ([])
by MX-1050-2.opaltelecom.co.uk with ESMTP; 04 Apr 2009 06:21:50 +0100
Received: from nobody by server26.ipslink.com with local (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <nobody@server26.ipslink.com>)
id 1LpyKF-0004pc-FZ
for ********@********.***; Sat, 04 Apr 2009 01:21:51 -0400
Subject: You have a new personal message ( MagicDuel Forums )
MIME-Version: 1.0
Date: Sat, 04 Apr 2009 01:21:51 -0400
From: "MagicDuel Forums" <chewett@magicduel.com>
X-Priority: 3
X-Mailer: IPB PHP Mailer
Content-type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Message-Id: <E1LpyKF-0004pc-FZ@server26.ipslink.com>
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - server26.ipslink.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - talktalk.net
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 32002] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - server26.ipslink.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well I did click on it and it was horrible..glad this is beeing communicated properly. I use a MAc so maybe Im ok. Logan is my MAC at risk as well?

Thank you for the support


Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Forum Statistics

    Total Topics
    Total Posts
  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events found
  • Recent Event Reviews

  • Create New...