Challenging Cyclicity

Nimrodel

Erm.. Reading all about spheres, cubes and circles in the pinned up thread, i remembered a question i encountered while preparing for my engineering exams( i m not an engineer i am a doctor. I prepared for both)

The question was what would you relate a circle with radius equalling infinity to? The options given were a cube, a sphere, a line or a point.

The answer is very simple. I'l let you people figure it out. Its a paradox.

Hmm. My question is something you will understand after you figure out the answer. You see, I would like to point that the principle of cyclicity will not hold good in case of an infinite circle. If it does, then it should hold good in case of every shape.. Because an infinite circle finally is the basic building block of every shape.. Meaning all the shapes should be cyclic. Its a complex question. You will understand it only if you manage to get an answer to the above question. If you dont, please post, i'l let you know by pm....

[spoiler]Since it's for engineering, there's no doubt that it the question is about projective geometry and the answer is a line. Projective geometry is build upon lines that always meet (if necessary at 'infinity'), even if you would usually call them parallel. Hence the paradox.
Another way to look at it is by using the curvature ( 1/R ) which is a measure for how bent something is. An infinite radius equals zero curvature. A line is not bent and thus has zero curvature. If you check the dimensionality a line is the only option.

A line is not the building block of anything finite. An interval and a point are candidates for building blocks.[/spoiler]

[spoiler]i would intentionally add option 5, a plane... but i'd think it's a line, as radius infinity would mean that the visible part of said circle is resembled by a straight line at any given point in space where you could technically not look at it as it's not there, but in infinity...[give me mooooore... i love such things^^]