Advice on Creating an Avatar

I decided to mess around and sketch an idea I had for an avatar. I'm really new to this game, so I was looking for some advice on how to make this better. I know I still need to make it translucent and I probably need to clean up some linework. Any other suggestions, thoughts? Am I on the right track?

Concept: The Master of Light and Shadow

[img]http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g256/ThrawnFett/MD%20Avatars/masterLS.jpg[/img]

Edited by Burns

Avatars shouldn't have a background to them, so the shading around the figure would have to get erased when editing I guess (no idea whatsoever how the editing programs work)

I know you said about cleaning up the linework, but a bit more detail maybe as well? I like the hand that's on show, but the feet look a little blank in comparison. No idea what the orb thing is either, and a little dark overall.

XD I feel mean saying a long list, I do like the general idea though, and I think you do have some skill with a pencil, just needs a little refining to fit with the theme of MD

Above is ofc all my opinion, and I'm no artist, if people disagree, PLEASE say so.

Avatars can have a background, yet sometimes it can be tricky to make it so it's also translucent.
It depends on which program you use.

Otherwise, I agree with Grido.
It is a very good start, but if you refine it a little more, it can be better.

Maybe you could try to blur the shade a litttle more? It stops a little sharp in my opinion.

For the orb: try to make the lines as straight as possible, it should look better then...
+ make the arm visible behind the light.

Now, you Do have pencil skills, keep drawing, trying, experimenting!

I like drawing man...super cool shading...the problem is that when you put background shadows....and convert it to greyscale and alpha, the background might not look good with the MD background, so instead of adding background to entire pic..you can add shadow towards the ground.

-rider